• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 marea

marea

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 November 2010 - 01:53 PM

Hello! My husband, our golden retriever and I will be coming to Cozumel for 6 months starting December 2. We have been wanting to do this for such a long time and I can't believe it's actually happening! If anyone has any advice about what to bring (or not bring), or any other helpful tips to make our transition easier, we'd love to hear from you! Hopefully we'll get a chance to actually meet some of you face to face, too. Brian is a chef and homebuilder, I am an orthopedic physical therapist. If you have any pain/strain/post-surgical issues or questions, I'd be happy to work with you while I'm there. Thanks in advance for any tips. 12 days and counting!
Mary

#2 CZMDM

CZMDM

Advanced

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 811 posts

Posted 20 November 2010 - 03:16 PM

Per your dog:

1) Make sure he is in check in and is not shipped air freight.

2) The dog has to have a medical statement from a vet showing the dog is healthy and is current on his shots. The document cannot be more than 2 weeks old. They might have changed the rule that the rabies cert has to be very recent as well, so you might want to check that. The HS might know, but they mostly export dogs and don't import them.

3) You must bring both Heartguard and Frontline to give/apply to your pet in front of a customs agent.

Failure to comply with any of the above will result in the dog being held up in customs. If it is shipped as freight there will be an outrageous fee to import the dog and the dog will be placed where you are not allowed to visit it. If this happens do not count on the aduana to water your dog. If you do not have the Heartguard and Frontline the dog will be held in customs until you get a vet to show up and give/apply the medicine.

You may already be aware of this but I would hate to see you show up unprepared and see you seperated from you little buddy.