• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 GringaErin

GringaErin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts

Posted 12 May 2011 - 08:42 AM

Not sure if anyone will be able to help me with this, but never hurts to ask. I finally have my ceramic art studio set up, and I'm in need of supplies. Specifically, raw clay. Either already mixed, or powder. Anyone have an idea of where I can get my hands on some? Thanks!

#2 artgirl

artgirl

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 325 posts

Posted 12 May 2011 - 08:43 PM

Congratulations getting your studio set up. I am a ceramic artist too and plan on retiring on the island someday and would like to do the same. I have a friend on the island who has a clay studio and she has her clay shipped down from the US. She tried to find a source on the mainland to purchase from but didn't have any luck. I sure hope someone else chimes in and provides a source for you cuz it's mighty pricey to have clay and glaze shipped. I have brought glaze down to her in the past as well, but that was before baggage retrictions were so tight. Good luck on your quest!!! I'll be watching this post with interest.

#3 Carey

Carey

Guru

• Members
  • 14,204 posts
  • Interests:reading, singing, movies, family & friends, good food, travel

Posted 12 May 2011 - 09:57 PM

I find it hard to believe that clay cannot be purchased elsewhere in Mexico and shipped to you on Cozumel. Find the Mexican word for the items you're looking for and start plugging them into google. Try mercadolibre.com I've ordered water lilies, a dehumidifier and an exercise bike here in Mexico and over the internet.