13 replies to this topic

#1 Jen87

Jen87

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:28 PM

Hola!

I am interested in moving to Cozumel or Playa Del Carmen. I've visited both places but recently went to Playa Del Carmen and decided that I would love to move to Mexico. I am a recent college graduate with a degree in Elementary Education. If anyone has any tips for me as far as how to get a job or know of any contacts I would really appreciate it. I currently teach summer school in the US and I am a nanny. I am young and ambitious and would love to experience life in Mexico. I'm interested in teaching, being a nanny or working at a resort in the kids' club or activities staff.

Thank you!

#2 Guest_pecosgirl_*

Guest_pecosgirl_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:49 PM

Teachers don't make enough money to live off of and work very long hours. FYI- Mexican nationals are nearly always hired over a foreigner. A nanny might work. Maybe somebody on here can give you some positive, helpful info. Good Luck.

#3 GringaErin

GringaErin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:47 PM

Once it gets closer to the busy season, you might have some luck with the kids club at hotels. Start making phone calls and send emails now and follow up, follow up, follow up. Be ready for long hours, and no time off. I know Iberostar resorts have some great kids programs, and I'm sure they aren't the only ones, and it helps if you know someone who works there already. I know a couple of foreigners that have gotten jobs at hotels on the animation staff, but they knew people. Good luck!

#4 Agnes62

Agnes62

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts

Posted 21 July 2011 - 07:34 AM