• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 CheekyMonkey

CheekyMonkey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 March 2010 - 08:01 PM

I am new to the island and wondering where the best places are to get plants to do a garden as well as for food. I also want to grow from seeds but the selection is limited in the Mega and Chedraui. Thanks in advance for your feedback and ideas.

#2 Coz2wonder

Coz2wonder

Guru

• Members
  • 5,617 posts

Posted 15 March 2010 - 08:39 AM

I have had good luck at the garden center on Transversal Road, right off of 65. First garden center on your right hand side a few yards from the corner.

(There is another Garden center, a few miles up the Transversal on your left hand side. I haven't been for a while, so not sure if he has veggie and fruits available).

The first garden center have/had a good selection of all kinds of fruit trees. I did not see (when I went) starter veggie plants.

I grow my own veggies from seeds I collect such as green/red/yellow peppers, cucumbers, pumpkins,watermelon and parsley*(*seeds available at Mega) most come from veggies, and fruit that I purchased. I just dry the seeds.

Also, tomatoes grow well here. I have grown them with the upside down method in buckets, and am growing them now in a raised garden. Cherry tomatoes grown like weeds...

Growing Mango, and Papaya from seeds can be done (I have about 6 I have started) but it will take a number of years before they produce fruit.

Mint grows well here, and that can be started from clippings. Also, a great veggie to grow is chives, which only takes a few starter plants to fill a pot.

I have found that people on the island are happy to share clippings. I have had some great luck with herbs that people grown here, and where happy to share.

If you find something interesting at the garden centers, please post.

The most important thing in life is not knowing everything, it's having the phone number of somebody who does!

Anonymous

#3 Charles