• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dan&Brenda

Dan&Brenda

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 08:45 AM

I've never done it before. I've snorkeled several times. I know that they offer a free "lesson" in the pool, at our resort. Once you have the "free lesson" done, what else is required/recommended, before my wife and I could go out for our first scuba trip? Suggestions welcome...

#2 zman96

zman96

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 09:12 AM

The free lesson at the resort is a Discover Scuba class. This will allow you to go out with that Dive Master on a shallow dive to just get a taste of Scuba Diving. I equate it to a drug dealer giving somebody their first fix for free, one time and you are hooked. After that you will need to read a book, take classes, do pool and open water dives and prove competency to achieve and an actual Scuba Certification (like a driver license).
If you are serious about wanting to dive you can do some of the needed requirements at home (book, classroom work, confined pool dives) and then do the open water dives in Cozumel. How long before you go?

#3 MarkC

MarkC

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 843 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 09:28 AM

I suggest you stay on shore. Diving is a very dangerous sport left only to those of us who are professionals and you’re likely to be eaten by one of the thousands of great white sharks that inhabit Cozumel.