Trip Report - Best Meals, Worst Deals

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 DJDiverDan

DJDiverDan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Interests:Scuba Diving, economics, Politics, Libertarian. And eating great food (usually to excess!)

Posted 10 July 2012 - 05:19 PM

I just got back from 9 days in Cozumel. I went down for ScubaBoard's 2012 Cozumel Invasion, which was based at the Hotel Cozumel & Resort. The pakage deal for the trip, which included 5 days of 2 tank boat dives in the morning, 5 days of 1tank boat dives in the afternoon, and unlimited shore diving, also included the All-inclusive at the Resort. I've been coming down to Cozumel for about 22 years now, and this was my first experience with an AI, and will almost certainly be my last. With the exception of breakfast, the food at Hotel Cozumel's buffet was TERRIBLE. I ate dinner there on Saturday and Sunday after checking in, and told myself that I'd rather starve to death than eat that food the remainder of the week. In the Hotel's defense, I talked to several of the other ScubaBoard Invaders about the food, and several seemed to think that the food was "just fine". But these same people invariably told me that they viewed food as just fuel for the body, and really didn't care much about taste. If you fit in that group, then you might prefer an AI. If you think, like me, that food is not just a necessity, but one of the great joys of life, definitely avoid the AI program at Hotel Cozumel and Resort. The Hotel was otherwise fine - very comfortable rooms, nice pool, pleasant and helpful people.