Photo

Cozumel Real Estate-Cozumel Capital Real Estate?

real estate homes renting

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tax_Accountant

Tax_Accountant

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 03:27 PM

Hello all, I am a long-time lurker, reading all of the "moving to Cozumel" posts. I'm a tax accountant in the US trying desperately to become an ex-pat. My husband is a Mexican citizen and we just took a trip to Guanajuato (near Salamanca), so there's no culture shock for me, I grew up on an island in Europe so a rustic, beachfront life is very amenable for me.

We own some property in GTO, but my dream is to own a small place near the beach in the Yukatan, and Cozumel seems like a wonderful compromise where we can buy outright because of my husband's citizenship status.

I've read everyone's suggestions to first:

1. Visit first,

2. Rent second,

3. Buy last

We are planning a trip in April, dragging our young kids to the island. I contacted Cozumel Capital Real Estate (Rita, specifically) after searching Craigslist for weeks. Does anyone have any other suggestions on where to start, or stay where we can get a feel for the real life here? The hotels are all pretty affordable for us, but I'm not sure that a hotel is the best way to get a feel for the real living on the island.

Thanks! especially to Coz2Wonder, whose posts I have been searching and reading. Very informative!

#2 sanddiver

sanddiver

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts
  • Interests:Scuba, cooking, hiking, learning new things, meeting new people, adventure, loving my partner.

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:08 PM