• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew Ham

Andrew Ham

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 December 2014 - 11:15 AM

Hey everyone.   I am new to the island, gonna be here for 3 months or so.  Any suggestions on where to buy a bicycle or used motorcycle? 

#2 Carey

Carey

Guru

• Members
  • 14,204 posts
  • Interests:reading, singing, movies, family & friends, good food, travel

Posted 11 December 2014 - 12:44 PM

You  might want to stay away from mopeds.  They have a different sized wheel base than motorcycles so the balance center is gong to take some getting used to.  Also until you know the roads and where the worse potholes are, you'd do better to stay off these somewhat dangerous little machines.

Biking is a good option here because so many people ride them that cars and mopeds are very aware of you.  Downside is you had best beware of riiding in places where there are a lot of tourists in rental cars.  Because they are NOT always accustomed to dealing with cyclists.

Bikes are probably going to be cheapest at the Chedraui and the Mega.  But they won't adjust or service them for you there.  So if you get one out of the box from this kind of store and can't adjust it to suit, you will have the added cost of then taking it in to one of the many great and cheap bike repair shops on the island.

Buy from a bike store like the one 1/3 block south of the intersection of Juarez and the 30 Avenida, east side of the street, and they'll get you all set up before you ride away.  There are plenty of bike shops on the island but that's the easiest one to tell you how to find and they have a couple of guys always working on repairs there.  There's another bike shop that also repairs but has less merchandise at the dead end of Avenida 50 going south.  And there's a small store across from the old Pemex on the cross island road going to the other side of the island, north side of the street.