Up To Date Car Rental Advice

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 tbiram

tbiram

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Interests:Painting, home renovation, sewing, reading, motorcycles, travel, board and card games

Posted 20 February 2015 - 09:08 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for any advice on renting a car for about 5 days while on vacation. I've never done this before so any and all advice is welcome. Staying at the south end of the island and don't want to take taxis everywhere and would like to see as much as possible while we're there.

Thanks

Terri

#2 Coz2wonder

Coz2wonder

Guru

• Members
  • 5,617 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 10:58 AM

it really depends on what type of car you want.  Open top VW beaters are popular from ISIS for $35 bucks a day, which includes insurance.

Fiesta Car rental, better cars, automatics, with AC.

Just about everything in between.

The one piece of advice, buy FULL COVERAGE insurance.  Do not rely on your credit card to pay for damages.  Do NOT drive under the influence, and if you have an accident, your insurance will be voided.

The most important thing in life is not knowing everything, it's having the phone number of somebody who does!

Anonymous

#3 tbiram

tbiram

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Interests:Painting, home renovation, sewing, reading, motorcycles, travel, board and card games

Posted 20 February 2015 - 11:56 AM

Thank you for such a quick reply. I love the idea of an open top VW. We're pretty laid back and low key and that sounds like fun... Thanks for the insurance advice as well. Read that somewhere else on here and will definitley take that to heart. So muchto see and do there, I can't wait.

#4 Coz2wonder

Coz2wonder

Guru

• Members
  • 5,617 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 01:33 PM

I would reserve with ISIS then.  I live on the south end of the island, so a car is really necessary.