9 replies to this topic

#1 Baja Satellite

Baja Satellite

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 11:03 AM

Hello All,

I'm a new member here on these Forums but I have a lot of experience with Satellite TV (20 years).

I found these forums because we received a lot of inquires from Cozumel residents over the last few weeks asking about how they might get the network channels restored now that Dish Network replaced their main satellite and eliminated the spot beam coverage into Cozumel for the Miami local networks.

It is possible to get the Local Network channels from San Francisco, New York, or both, in Cozumel - even on a 4' dish. We know how to do this. Please visit our web site for more information.

Of course, for the benefit of other members, feel free to ask questions here and I'll try my best to respond to them.

Best Regards,

Alan
Alan Thompson
Baja Satellite
http://www.BajaSatellite.com

#2 satelliteguy

satelliteguy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 12:50 PM

Have you come to Cozumel and done a transponder check using a 4 foot dish? Before you advise people you can do networks on a 4 foot dish you should. Even with a 6 foot dish here our readings are quite low but enough to obtain programming. A 4 footer has proven to be OK for the transponders that carry CNN, HLN, Weather Channel but the New York feed on transponder 20 has been reading 1 on a 4 foot dish and 16 to 18 on a 6 foot dish. Maybe the California channels would fare better? Your opinion would be helpful to those shopping for service and new larger dishes.

#3 sailsgal

sailsgal

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Interests:diving, writing, water sports, sailing, travel.

Posted 20 June 2010 - 12:57 PM